I know I haven’t posted blogs in quite a while, for no particular reasons. (other than laziness, and perhaps a stroke of perfectionism which seems to dictate silence over expression).
But today, with the new year in our laps, begging to be nurtured and appreciated, I feel as if I must write something hopeful, and a few words of appreciation. So here are some of my favorite qoutes, from my friends, family and personal heroes. so here they come, in no particular order…

Moabi’s quote (via Facebook):

Being in charge of an airplane, for me, is a lot like having your life at your very finger tips, whatever u want to make happen happens, Your fuel depletes whether you like it or not, time runs out and the idea is to press all the right buttons at the right time and still enjoy the flight, this is how I want to live my life, and if I make the wrong call, I remember that I’m actually just the copilot, and my King is The Captain.

 Moabi is one of those people that you can always count on to say something insightful when your feeling down. On this particular occasion, I was feeling discontent and disappointed about the way I managed my time, but his words reminded me that I’m just the co-pilot and that even if I mess up today, God still keeps my life afloat tomorrow; ready for “take-two”….

 

James Pearce’s quote (at Mt. Carmel ‘10):

 

It doesn’t matter if I fail or succeed today; I know I’m born to do this…. And I will be excellent.

This is what he told me before he had to give a speech at our annual pastor’s retreat. I’m not sure if he even remembers it, but I wrote it in my journal that night and made it a personal motto. It was not just the words that moved me, but the way he said it; not angrily or arrogantly, but with a sort of motivation one usually see in a gold medalist split-seconds before they tear the old record to shreds.

determination

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a perfectionist. I feel like I don’t want to hit publish, unless I am DEAD sure, that what I’ve said is relevant up to the most miniscule of details. It makes me shudder at the imaginary consequences of my incomplete fragments and disorganized thoughts put on the web for all eternity (call it “blog-fright”). But I am defeating this fear, one post at a time. No matter how awkward I may feel, I’ll keep going until I come out on top…. So mark my words; whether I make it today or not, I will be excellent!

Gene Edwards (in his book “Tale of Three Kings”:

Better he kill me, than I learn his ways. Better he kill me, than I become as he is. I shall not practice the ways that cause kings to go mad. I will not throw spears, nor will I allow hatred to grow in my heart. I will not avenge. Not now. Not ever!

A couple of books, no matter how old, never leave my company. This book has taught me that responding to evil with evil is more harmful to me than virtually anything else, because it trains me to be like them. So rather turn away and hold your peace.

I don’t always get it right, but I know that God will finish the work he started in me…

 

And Finally (for now…) I leave you with one last ‘quote’… See you soon Smile

‘Background’ by Lecrae Ft. C-lite